top of page

Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement

(S,P) The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) Agreement entered into force on 1 January 2022. Access Summary + Full Text + Rules of Origin

The Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is a proposed free trade agreement (FTA) between the ten member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam) and its six FTA partners (Australia, China, India, Japan, New Zealand and Republic of Korea).


  • Australia,

  • Brunei Darussalam,

  • Cambodia,

  • China,

  • Japan,

  • Lao PDR,

  • New Zealand,

  • Singapore,

  • Thailand and

  • Viet Nam

This paves the way for the creation of the world’s largest free trade area.

The world’s largest free trade area

According to data by the World Bank, the agreement would cover 2.3 billion people or 30% of the world’s population, contribute US$ 25.8 trillion about 30% of global GDP, and account for US$ 12.7 trillion, over a quarter of global trade in goods and services, and 31% of global FDI inflows.


The RCEP Agreement will also enter into force on 1 February 2022 for the Republic of Korea. As for the remaining signatory States, the RCEP Agreement will enter into force 60 days after the deposit of their respective instrument of ratification, acceptance, or approval to the Secretary-General of ASEAN as the Depositary of the RCEP Agreement.


The entry into force of the RCEP Agreement is a manifestation of the region’s resolve to keep markets open; strengthen regional economic integration; support an open, free, fair, inclusive, and rules-based multilateral trading system; and, ultimately, contribute to global post-pandemic recovery efforts.

Market access

Through new market access commitments and streamlined, modern rules and disciplines that facilitate trade and investment, RCEP promises to deliver new business and employment opportunities, strengthen supply chains in the region, and promote the participation of micro, small and medium enterprises into the regional value chains and production hubs.


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration) by the Founding Fathers of ASEAN: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. Brunei Darussalam joined ASEAN on 7 January 1984, followed by Viet Nam on 28 July 1995, Lao PDR and Myanmar on 23 July 1997, and Cambodia on 30 April 1999, making up what is today the ten Member States of ASEAN.


Download PDF • 335KB

Full Text

RCEP Agreement in Full
Download PDF • 3.68MB

Rules of Origin

Chapter-3 - Rules of Origin
Download PDF • 193KB

Rules of Origin - Product Specific

RCEP - Chapter-3-Annex-3A - Product Speicfic Rules
Download PDF • 1.96MB

Rules of Origin - Minimum Information

RECP - Chapter-3-Annex-3B - Minimum Information
Download PDF • 51KB

Summary By European Parliament

Summary of the RCEP by European Parliament
Download PDF • 665KB

12 views0 comments
bottom of page